2019 long and shortlist announcement

The Kraszna-Krausz Foundation is delighted to announce the long and shortlisted titles in the running for the 2019 Photography Book Award and Moving Image Book Award.

The longlists for each prize, detailed below, cover some of our most pressing concerns, from the repression of abortion, to urgent environmental issues, and contemporary politics of race and identity.

The 2019 Photography Book Award longlist was selected by Liz Jobey, Associate Editor, FT Weekend Magazine, Chrystel Lebas, Photographer and Kraszna-Krausz Book Award Winner 2018 and Anne McNeill, Director, Impressions Gallery.

2019 Best Photography Book Award Longlist
(the three shortlisted titles appear in bold):

  • On Abortion by Laia Abril (Dewi Lewis Publishing)
  • Dawoud Bey: Seeing Deeply by Dawoud Bey (University of Texas Press)
  • An Act of Unspeakable Violence by Matthias Bruggmann (Editions Xavier Barral)
  • Masahisa Fukase by Masahisa Fukase and Tomo Kosuga (Editions Xavier Barral)
  • Deana Lawson: An Aperture Monograph, Photographs by Deana Lawson (Aperture)
  • Caspian: The Elements by Chloe Dewe Mathews (Aperture)
  • Somnyama Ngonyama, Hail the Dark Lioness by Zanele Muholi (Aperture)
  • Sun Gardens: Cyanotypes by Anna Atkins by Larry J. Schaaf (Prestel)
  • Drowned River by Mark Klett, Byron Wolfe, Rebecca Solnit (Radius Books)
  • Robert F. Kennedy Funeral Train, The People’s View by Rein Jelle Terpstra (Fw:Books)
  • One Wall a Web by Stanley Wolukau-Wanambwa (Roma Publications)

The 2019 Moving Image Book Award longlist was selected by Karen Alexander, an independent curator, educator and writer, James Bell, Features Editor, Sight & Sound Magazine and Tamar Jeffers McDonald, Reader in Film Studies, University of Kent.

2019 Best Moving Image Book Award Longlist
(the three shortlisted titles appear in bold):

  • Hollywood by Hollywood: The Backstudio Picture and the Mystique of Making Movies by Steven Cohan (Oxford University Press USA)
  • Images of Dutchness by Sarah Dellmann (Amsterdam University Press)
  • Inhospitable World: Cinema in the Time of the Anthropocene by Jennifer Fay (Oxford University Press USA)
  • The Colour Fantastic: Chromatic Worlds of Silent Cinema by Giovanna Fossati, Victoria Jackson, Bregt Lameris, Elif Rongen-Kaynakci, Sarah Street, Joshua Yumibe (eds). (Amsterdam University Press)
  • Scala Cinema: 1978 – 1993 by Jane Giles (FAB Press)
  • Specters of Slapstick and Silent Film Comediennes by Maggie Hennefeld (Columbia University Press)
  • William Kentridge: Process as Metaphor and Other Doubtful Enterprises by Leora Maltz-Leca (University of California Press)
  • The Birth of the American Horror Film by Gary D. Rhodes (Edinburgh University Press)
  • 3D: Double Vision by Britt Salvesen (Prestel)
  • Books and Films by Jakob Tuggener (Steidl)

The press release with further information about the long and shortlisted titles, comments from the judges, and details of this year’s awards can be viewed here.

The Awards

The Kraszna-Krausz Book Awards recognise individuals or groups of individuals who, in the opinion of the Judges, have made an outstanding original or lasting contribution to the literature of or concerning the art and practice of photography or the moving image. Two winning titles will be selected; one in the field of photography and one in the field of the moving image (including film, television and digital media).

From the total submissions, a long list of ten books will be selected in both categories by the judges. This will then be reduced to shortlists of three, from which two final winning publications will be chosen. Each winning book will receive a £5,000 cash prize.

The ten longlisted and three shortlisted titles in each category, along with a selection of books from our Fellowship in Photography honouree, will be announced in March and will be displayed on the Kraszna-Krausz stand at Photo London 2019.

Photo London
16 – 19 May 2019
Somerset House

The winners will be revealed at a ceremony hosted at the Royal Society of Arts (RSA) on 16th May 2019.

Full rules and conditions for the 2019 awards are available here.

How will the books be judged?

The judging panel consists of three internationally recognised experts in their specialist fields.

The 2019 Photography Book Award will be judged by Liz Jobey, Associate Editor FT Magazine, Chrystel Lebas, visual artist and Kraszna-Krausz Foundation Photography Book Award Winner 2018 and Anne McNeill, Director, Impressions Gallery.

The 2019 Moving Image Book Award will be judged by Karen Alexander, Senior Tutor of Curating Contemporary Art, Royal College of Art, James Bell, Features Editor, Sight & Sound Magazine and Dr. Tamar Jeffers McDonald, Reader in Film Studies, University of Kent.

Books are judged on their content, presentation, texture, quality and design and the panel will be looking for the best original works published over the last 12 months. In the opinion of the judges, winning books should make a significant contribution to the scholarship, history, research, criticism, science or conservation in the fields of photography or the moving image.

Previous judges have been drawn from the worlds of fine art, photography, film, galleries, museums, academia and publishing. Names of previous judges can be found here.