Photography and Cinema, from A to Z  presented by David Campany

 © Chris Marker, frame from La Jetée, 1962 courtesy Argos Films_WR

6.30pm, Monday 30 March 2020
Registration from 6.00pm
The lecture will be followed by a drinks reception

Clore Lecture Theatre (CLO B01), Birkbeck, University of London,
Clore Management Centre, Torrington Square, London, WC1E 7JL

The inaugural Kraszna-Krausz Lecture will be given by internationally renowned writer, public speaker and curator David Campany. Titled Photography and Cinema, from A to Z, the lecture will take the form of twenty-six short reflections on still and moving images. It will consider the relations between Photography and Cinema: stillness and movement, cinema’s changing attitude to the depiction of photographers on screen, the freeze frame and the art of the film publicity still.

The lecture series, newly established by the Kraszna-Krausz Foundation, will provide a platform and space for fresh voices and perspectives on photography and the moving image. The 2020 lecture is presented in partnership with the History and Theory of Photography Research Centre, Birkbeck.

Free to attend but spaces are limited. Book your place here.

Image: © Chris Marker, frame from La Jetée, 1962 courtesy Argos Films